Troubled Past, Merciful God

It’s interesting how some conversations start and how they progress into our thinking of the past, which at times is not such a bad place to go.

My son and his friend came over for a bit when I got off work. He wanted to call his dad and check in. His dad lives in Ottawa and is not doing so well health wise (possibly dying). So he comes over as he only has a cell phone. My son does not live with me, even though he is only 17 years old. He  has chosen a lifestyle which I do not approve off and support so he is living with another family member. I do see him two or three times per month and I take him out to eat. I enjoy spending time with him but it is hard knowing the life he leads and what the consequences of that life could be. He is a man, even though the world would still call him a teenager. We have babyed our youth and allowed them to stay immature for way to long. We have created a rebellious, immature, spoiled, greedy culture who when not given what they want when they want it run away or move in with a bunch of friends, which move from home to home. I call them couch leeches as they live on other peoples couch’s for long periods of time and then move on to another.

My son started talking about his night outs and the trouble he gets in. He finds it quite amusing. I find it scary! It really got me to thinking though that I had a past and it was probably worse than his. This gave me hope. To know that even with me bieng so lost and many times close to death the Lord had a purpose, He had a plan from the beginning of the world for me. He knew me before I was even born. He chose me before I was even born. I was predestined to be one of His. He called me out from among the worldlings. He set my feet on another path. A path of righteousness. All this for His glory! 

Roman 9:11  (For [the children] being not yet born, neither having done any good or evil, that the purpose of God according to election might stand, not of works, but of him that calleth.

 2Ti 2:10   Therefore I endure all things for the elect’s sakes, that they may also obtain the salvation which is in Christ Jesus with eternal glory.

 Romans 9:23  And that he might make known the riches of his glory on the vessels of mercy, which he had afore prepared unto glory,

So you see, there is still hope for my son. I pray for his regeneration. I pray that the Lord would over take his will and draw him to Himself. In the end it is up to the Lord. He chooses whom He wills and I will rest in that.

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

