Calming the Stormy seas

            

              I have often thought that I need more of a quiet and gentle spirit. I have prayed about it often. I think that the more I trust in God and he becomes my place of safety the more I will display the attributes that make for  a quiet and gentle spirit. I find myself to be an emotional person at times and can get quite worked up if the situation is more than I can handle or process. I believe sometimes I think to much and put my own thoughts into play without looking towards the truth and the Godly wisdom that must be used. As I grow in the Lord and focus on how I am to be as a wife and a women the more I understand and can walk in this freedom. Submission and duty as a wife is and can be a wonderful experience. I am still in process of learning this as well. I was a single parent for 16 years and focused on raising my boys and having to do all things myself. So I became quite independant. I have not been married for very long. I praise God for the patient husband He has brought into my life. I have learned more about myself in the almost 3 years Ihave been married than in the other 45. God has used my marriage to show me how selfish, prideful, determined and many more not so desirable triats I have and is changing these into qualities of a Godly women. This is a process and will continue to be worked out. Bieng a biblical women is rare and beautiful to me. This is my desire. These verses speak of how a women should be and what the benefits are if obeyed. Also the husband and his role which brings unity and a life of grace for both.  

1 Peter 3:1,7   Likewise, ye wives, [be] in subjection to your own husbands; that, if any obey not the word, they also may without the word be won by the conversation of the wives;While they behold your chaste conversation [coupled] with fear.

Whose adorning let it not be that outward [adorning] of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel;

But [let it be] the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, [even the ornament] of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price.

For after this manner in the old time the holy women also, who trusted in God, adorned themselves, being in subjection unto their own husbands:

Even as Sara obeyed Abraham, calling him lord: whose daughters ye are, as long as ye do well, and are not afraid with any amazement.

Likewise, ye husbands, dwell with [them] according to knowledge, giving honour unto the wife, as unto the weaker vessel, and as being heirs together of the grace of life; that your prayers be not hindered.

I like what Nancy Wilson shared on the subject of a quiet and gentle spirit.

               “Some people mistakenly think that a gentle and quiet spirit is displayed when a woman never speaks. This has concerned some of the outgoing personalities because they don’t know how to be a silent lump. This is merely looking at externals. Certainly sometimes a quiet spirit will be exhibited by silence, but not always. And a quiet person can be all worked up on the inside. This is missing the point. A heart that is resting in the faithfulness of God is gentle and quiet; it is not stirred up with worry and anxiety. This gentle and quiet spirit is a calm, peaceful spirit. It is a tame spirit, a gentled spirit. I have often compared this kind of spirit to a glassy lake, not turbulent or troubled, but hardly showing a ripple. In contrast, the anxious spirit is like a stormy sea with whitecaps whipping along the shore. This of course brings to mind our Lord calming the troubled Sea of Galilee. Likewise, He can calm our troubled spirits when we look to Him.”

In the end I don’t want to be the stormy seas…….. give me the calm mirror like waters any day.

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

