Why are you wearing that thing on your head Ms Debbie?

Christian head covering-1800s-12

Why are you wearing that thing on your head Ms Debbie a little girl asked me one day while at work. I tryed to explain it to her but she just shrugged her shoulders and went back to playing.

I had made the decision about I think close to 3 months ago to start wearing a head covering full time. I had listened to a sermon on head coverings and researched it for myself and found it to be completely biblical. When I first put one on it was a bit uncomfortable and I thought I looked funny. But all that didn’t matter as I wanted to be obediant to the word. It is important to show that I am in submission to God and my husband. Glorifing God  should be what is most important in the life of a true believer and me wearing a head covering does just that. Some would say it is legalism and I say how can being obediant to the word be legalism. How can glorifing God be legalism? This is just one part of the process of separation that I have taken.

Now that I have been wearing one full time for a while I can’t go with out one. I feel naked. I also find that it takes no time now to get ready for work. No fuss, no blowdrying or trying to make my hair all pretty. I realized just how vain I was before and how much time I took to look like the rest of the world. Mind you there have been some days when my flesh takes over and I think hey! I have a great hairday going on here maybe I won’t wear a headcovering today. This thought doesn’t last long and I tell my flesh NO! and I put on my headcovering. The one male that works with me kinda made fun of me one day. I just looked at him and said excuse me! He looked embarassed. That has been the only time anyone has said anything. I think at times most do not want to know. Many times before I would come up against things and let them know that what they believe is not biblical and they can’t fight back because they have no scripture to back them up, just emotions. Most have excepted that I am different and thats okay. We are called to be a peculiar people. As a women we are called to be modest. Not all made up. Our beauty is to come form within. I would rather have a Godly beauty any day and to have to put on a costume each day. I heard that on another blog recently that we put on a costume when we make ourselves up to look different then how God made us. This shows that we are not satisfied with how we look and how vain we really are. The media and televison has told women that to be modest is plain and unattrative. This is a lie from the enemy. Would God make a person ugly. What is ugly anyway. This again comes from a perspective of the world. And who is the prince of this world? The prince of lies and deciet? Satan.

If God is calling you out, calling you to separate from an ungodly world. If you are His (elect) then you must be obediant to His word. If you Love Him you will want to glorify Him in all you do. God created you with an inner beauty that will shine forth as you humble yourself and look to Him for guidance and truth. 

Here is some scriptures that pertain to your true beauty.

 1 Ch 16:29    Give unto the LORD the glory [due] unto his name: bring an offering, and come before him: worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness.

  Pro 31:30       Favour [is] deceitful, and beauty [is] vain: [but] a woman [that] feareth the LORD, she shall be praised.

 1 Ti 2:9  In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with broided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array; 10  Not purloining, but shewing all good fidelity; that they may adorn the doctrine of God our Saviour in all things

  1 Peter 3:3    Whose adorning let it not be that outward [adorning] of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel;  4  But [let it be] the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, [even the ornament] of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price.  For after this manner in the old time the holy women also, who trusted in God, adorned themselves, being in subjection unto their own husbands: 

Man is decieved if he tells you anything that is contrary to scripture. Do not let your flesh or what the world has to say keep you from obediance to God.

Wearing a headcovering will not save me. Wearing a headcovering Glorifies God.

Here is a link to Headcovering sermons that will help you to understand more fully why you should wear one.  Just scroll down to where it says headcoverings part one and then you can listen to part two as well. http://lazarusunbound.com/audiosermons.shtml

 Here is the scripture basis for why I wear the headcovering.

 1 Cr 11:3     But I would have you know, that the head of every man is Christ; and the head of the woman [is] the man; and the head of Christ [is] God.

4    Every man praying or prophesying, having [his] head covered, dishonoureth his head.

5       But every woman that prayeth or prophesieth with [her] head uncovered dishonoureth her head: for that is even all one as if she were shaven.

6       For if the woman be not covered, let her also be shorn: but if it be a shame for a woman to be shorn or shaven, let her be covered.

     For a man indeed ought not to cover [his] head, forasmuch as he is the image and glory of God: but the woman is the glory of the man.

8     For the man is not of the woman; but the woman of the man.

9     Neither was the man created for the woman; but the woman for the man.

10    For this cause ought the woman to have power on [her] head because of the angels.

11    Nevertheless neither is the man without the woman, neither the woman without the man, in the Lord.

12    For as the woman [is] of the man, even so [is] the man also by the woman; but all things of God.

13    Judge in yourselves: is it comely that a woman pray unto God uncovered?

14   Doth not even nature itself teach you, that, if a man have long hair, it is a shame unto him?

15   But if a woman have long hair, it is a glory to her: for [her] hair is given her for a covering.

16   But if any man seem to be contentious, we have no such custom, neither the churches of God.

Blessings Debbie

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why are you wearing that thing on your head Ms Debbie?

  1. Judy says:

    Thank you, Debbie, for sharing your testimony and experiences with headcovering. There have been some really good blog posts lately on biblical womanhood and this is one of those.

    Judy

  2. LisaM says:

    I really appreciate your thoughts here, and I hope you don’t mind my directing others to your testimony. Thank you for sharing out loud.

  3. Well said Debbie!! I love the mask costume picture you posted – it is such a great visual effect to prove the costume point and the depth of Satan’s deception. Thank you for posting the scriptures as well. I really appreciate your blog.

    Susan

Leave a Reply

