Black and White or Grey, Which do you prefer?

 

Sarah in Her Dad's Hand Mini Poster

My life in the Hand of A Holy God

 

Personally speaking, I am a black and white  person all the way. How about you?

When I speak of black and white I mean, do you see things this way, or do you believe there are grey areas. This has gotten me into hot water many times.

When it comes to my believe I don’t have grey areas. I believe scripture is black and white. I don’t see any maybe’s in the bible. I see yes or no. I see that there are consequences when we choose the wrong one. And blessings when we choose the right.

          When I first became a christian I couldn’t understand how some people didn’t see things how I saw them according to scripture. When I read something that said don’t or stay away from I definitely tried to do what it said. So many others were trying to sway me away from that by saying oh that’s not for today or it’s okay this is one of those grey areas. I must say I got a little frustrated at this. I thought the word was the same yesterday, today and forever due to the fact that it was from God WHO IS the same yesterday, today and forever.

       One such instance was when I had a youth group. These were children who had a hard time in life. Children whose parents struggled. Except one such boy who, himself had some behavioural challenges already.  This increased greatly I soon saw why. His parents, both  professing to be born again, both teachers, saw many grey areas in scripture.  I believe because of this they allowed there son to fool around with things that increased his problems. In scripture it states that,   

Deu 18:9  When thou art come into the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee, thou shalt not learn to do after the abominations of those nations.  Which I believe it is saying  for us now , “When you become a child of God you no longer follow the worlds  ways. You no longer do things that God detests.  You separate yourself from wicked and worldly things.

       This young man was playing games that influenced his life. Games like Dungeon and Dragons. Which is a game that you role play. You can be a wizard in which you cast spells and leads you into many vicious venues. This young man’s personality changed. I remember having  talked with him about this game and I bascially told him that it is dangerous and that it was not of God. I found out that he ended up throwing the pieces away. When his dad found out he was furious. I tryed to explain to him the effects that the game was having on his son, all he could do was talk about the cost of the game and that this was a grey area. Needless to say he didn’t see things black and white. Which is his choice of course. But it sure messed up his son. His son from my last knowledge has faced many difficulties. I guess for me even though I didn’t know alot of scripture back then and was learning I did trust the Holy Spirit within me to confirm what scripture was saying.

           Many time I hear things like, “Well my holy spirit said I could” or ” its good for you but not for me or the other way around. I thought we all had the same Holy Spirit. The one that never changes. The one that is the same yesterday, today and forever. I am not sure how He can be so different to so many people. The Holy spirit doesn’t believe in grey area’s.  His truth is the same to all. I can see how some people or many can get quite confused when it seems to them that God is different according to a person’s will or wants. There is one God, One Holy Spirit and one Jesus Christ. Their word never changes. Yet scripture to some has changed to fit the needs of a person or person’s, thus making for many grey areas. Again I believe that if you are truly one of God’s then the Holy Spirit will confirm what scripture says. He will Not make up something new.  For instance , If He called you to wear headcovering and you really didn’t want to or like to . He is not going to say it’s okay, your just fine the way you are. No, the Holy spirits word  to you or me will be confirmed in scripture always. Its up to you whether you accept it or be obediant to it. Some will twist the word around to make it work for them.

God is interested in what we watch, see, do and read. If we are to walk a holy walk we cannot be doing what the rest of the world is doing. He has set us on a different path. We are not to read books that have to do with things that God finds detesable like witchcraft, Ghosts etc.  And just because our children find some books interesting ( Goose Bumps etc.) in turn helping them to read makes no difference to God. We can say at least my child has found something they like to read and is doing much better in the reading department. It would be like giving a child a pill that would help them become a millionare some day, but can run the risk of heart failure along the way. Reading or allowing children to read material that would keep thier interest in reading so they will become good readers sounds good until they take to heart and learn from that in which they read. For instance Harry Potter. Yikes. A book that if filled with witch craft, evil . But some say it is good versus evil. No it is evil versus evil. witchcraft fights witchcraft. Again another grey area that leads to more which leads to doing the things that God detests according to scripture. It kinda reminds me of the frog and the boiling water.  You don’t know your in trouble until its to late! Your mind has become numb to the things that should make you uncomfortable.  Scripture says: 

 Deu 18:10    There shall not be found among you [any one] that maketh his son or his daughter to pass through the fire, [or] that useth divination, [or] an observer of times, or an enchanter, or a witch,

11  Or a charmer, or a consulter with familiar spirits, or a wizard, or a necromancer.

12  For all that do these things [are] an abomination unto the LORD: and because of these abominations the LORD thy God doth drive them out from before thee.

13     Thou shalt be perfect with the LORD thy God.

Also

2 Cr 6:17    Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean [thing]; and I will receive you, 18 And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.

This is not the past. Does it not stand to reason that if God finds this kind of thing an abomination to do that it would be an abomination to enjoy reading and learning about these things as intertainment.  

Do you have grey area’s in your life?  For me I would rather stay away from area’s that God detests. It does not Glorify Him for his children to be into such things. So its black and white for me. I am not saying that I do all things right. On the contrary!  I am always learning. The word is my Guide. It tells me what is good for me and what is not. White is good, black is bad, grey is, YOU’RE TAKING YOUR CHANCES! 

Like I said I am a black and white kinda girl and I shall walk out my salvation with fear and trembling even if I stumble and fall many times along the way.

So……… Black and White………. or Grey???

Black Oak Tree Art Print by Alan Blaustein

Blessings Debbie

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

