Afflictions, Refining and Promises

refining gold.jpg

In the Fire

“The gold is never purer than in the fire; the wheat is never cleaner than in a wind; and the water is never clearer than when it runs among the stones and rocks; the sheep never keep together so orderly in their pastures as when the wolves are about to worry them; the musical instrument never sounds so sweet as when you strike it with your fingers. So it is with the church — the times of its calamity are the times of its beauty; their hearts are never more humbled, their ways never more reformed and purified, their graces and heavenly opportunities never more improved, their fellowship never more kindled, and their prayers and dependencies never more doubled and quickened than when the bondage of Pharaoh, the threatening of Herod, or the rod of the wicked does rest on the backs of the righteous. If wicked men tear their bodies, yet God will preserve their souls; if they deform their beauty, yet God will reform their hearts; if they waste their estates, yet God will make up their comforts; if they take away their lives, yet God will give them heaven. There is no calamity which befalls the church that shall not be either a medicine to heal, a lash to quicken, or a trial to discover. It shall be an advantage to the gospel, an enlargement of the stock, and a step to glory.”

Obadiah Sedgwick {Puritan}, Providence Practically Handled, pp. 93-94

The Lord is so gracious and merciful to us his remnant. He does not leave us or let us stray to far from the fold. His afflictions are love bieng poured out upon us.

Being refined is never a pleasant experience and can be quite painful. There are many times I have gone through things that I didn’t think I would make it out the other end. The other end is what matters most. The lessons learned. The comforter comforts. The trust even greater.

I think of those around me who are greatly suffering. These are not the Lords. There whole lives are depended on another people. They exist to make another happy or themselves. Very sad. There is peace knowing that my journey is one of a multitude of promises in scripture.  When we go through trials, afflictions and even discipline we can rest knowing that a greater purpose is being fullfilled. Our lives are in process of constant change. From Glory to Glory.

As for me and my husband we have had some ups and downs in our process of separation. We know that it is for our learning to trust God and to constantly give up the things of this world. We also know that the devil does not want us to separate and he to will throw in a few attempts to discourage but in the end with our knowledge of the truth and our faith in  God we will over come and continue this process.

 2 Peter 1:4  Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.

   Psalms 73:23-24  Nevertheless I [am] continually with thee: thou hast holden [me] by my right hand. Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me [to] glory.

  2 Peter 3:13     Nevertheless we, according to his promise, look for new heavens and a new earth, wherein dwelleth righteousness.

 1Cor 1:30      But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption:

 Galations 2:20      I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

John 14:18    I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.

There are so many promises that we His children can trust in each and every day.  This one I believe is one of the most important ones.

2Cr 6:17-18  Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean [thing]; and I will receive you, And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.

 

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Afflictions, Refining and Promises

  1. Brenda says:

    Your post is very timely in my life right now…I’m being brought low under some chastening of the Lord and I think of the verse:

    Heb 12:11 “Now no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby.”

    Thank you for these excellent verses that bring hope and comfort in the midst of the Lord’s dealings with me. He is faithfully working to purge the dross and burn the chaff in my/our lives, with the ultimate goal of presenting us “faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy” Jude 1:24. How I need to keep my eyes upon Him in the process–to see His hand in the painful humiliation and trust that it is meant for my good and for His glory. John 6:39 “that of all which he hath given me I should lose nothing, but should raise it up again at the last day.”

    Brenda

Leave a Reply

