Submission and Cloudy Windows

Joh 14:27 –Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. Geneva Bible

 

Faith Building Meditations by:

Evening by Evening  C.H. Spurgeon

“I will make thy windows of agates.”

Isaiah 54:12

The church is most instructively symbolized by a building erected by heavenly power, and designed by divine skill. Such a spiritual house must not be dark, for the Israelites had light in their dwellings; there must therefore be windows to let the light in and to allow the inhabitants to gaze abroad. These windows are precious as agates: the ways in which the church beholds her Lord and heaven, and spiritual truth in general, are to be had in the highest esteem. Agates are not the most transparent of gems, they are but semi-pellucid at the best:

“Our knowledge of that life is small,

Our eye of faith is dim.”

Faith is one of these precious agate windows, but alas! it is often so misty and beclouded, that we see but darkly, and mistake much that we do see. Yet if we cannot gaze through windows of diamonds and know even as we are known, it is a glorious thing to behold the altogether lovely One, even though the glass be hazy as the agate. Experience is another of these dim but precious windows, yielding to us a subdued religious light, in which we see the sufferings of the Man of Sorrows, through our own afflictions. Our weak eyes could not endure windows of transparent glass to let in the Master’s glory, but when they are dimmed with weeping, the beams of the Sun of Righteousness are tempered, and shine through the windows of agate with a soft radiance inexpressibly soothing to tempted souls. Sanctification, as it conforms us to our Lord, is another agate window. Only as we become heavenly can we comprehend heavenly things. The pure in heart see a pure God. Those who are like Jesus see him as he is. Because we are so little like him, the window is but agate; because we are somewhat like him, it is agate. We thank God for what we have, and long for more. When shall we see God and Jesus, and heaven and truth, face to face?

There are many a time in which this window, which is already cloudy becomes more cloudy still.  These are times that my mind becomes preoccupied with things that overtake my faith. These times I think I am  still walking forward in the process of separation yet I am walking it out in my flesh and trying to achieve goals that may not be of the Lord or  His timing. It does not take long before  my eyes are off His will and are placed in my own hands. This is not a safe place to be or a desired place.

I have always been a strong person and very independent. I have always been able to achieve what ever I put my mind to. But I have done it in the flesh and it is not pleasing to the Lord. Submission I will admit is an area of weakness for me.  But I can tell you if I don’t submit then there is no peace to be found. I am in disobedience and there is no rest.

I learn things the hard way. My stubborn will does not allow for much light to come in. Again making the light of faith even dimmer. In my heart I truly want to please the Lord and give Him daily my trust and life. What I desire can sure be a battle. My eye of faith must not remain dim, I must become more like Christ in order to see Him as He is. I MUST spend more time in the word, More time in prayer and more time in worship. May my foolish mind and corrupt flesh be crucified that I will daily die in order that I might live. 

This window of faith is precious therefore it must not become so dim that I loose my way and walk not in His perfect will. I am where the Lord wants me to be. If He wants me in a different place then He will move me there when He is ready. (This is me telling myself the truth). There is a cost either way we go! I surely want my path to be the narrow and blessed way.

In Honesty,

Debylin

Peace Art Print by Stephanie Marrott

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

