In Mercy He Quickened Me!

 

“He upbraided them with their unbelief.” Mark 16: 14

But without Faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them who diligently seek him.  Hebrews 11:6,7

It is a very easy for us to get into a desponding state of heart. Without even knowing it I find myself not in Christ’s perfect rest. Discontentment, cloudy thoughts and unrest of soul, what happened? How did I allow for such things to rob me of my peace?

The Lord has upbraided me and shown me a great wrong that has been in His sight. It is sin that I must no longer indulge in. I have taken my eyes off of Him and placed it in the things of the world. I have doubted His word and taken heed in the thoughts of man.

It comes subtly and gives appetite to the flesh. Disguising itself as need.

 

“Turn away mine eyes from beholding vanity; and quicken thou me in they way.” Psalm 119:37

Quote by Spurgeon:

Beholding Vanity is sure to bring deadness into you soul. If you let the cares of the world into you mind too much, do they not destroy your spirituality? Often your spirits get lethargic and dull when suddenly, the Spirit of God come upon you.

We all have a natural tendency toward vanity and need to constantly be aware of its desire. Vanities desire is to dull our senses and take us on a journey of self fulfillment. Thus keeping our eyes off the Lord and placing doubt in our hearts.

I have found this true of myself in the last few weeks. I have given myself over to vanity. The world and all its cares crowed out the still small voice and replaced it with the screams of discontentment. I allowed for television, work, frustration and circumstances to become the center of my thoughts. The voice of the Lord became quiet. His word was not in my heart or in my mind. I gave myself over to filling my needs in other ways.

My heart was at unrest. My thoughts were confused and my heart was sinking into despair.

For I am become like a bottle in the smoke; yet do I not forget thy statutes. Psalm 119:83

I was like that empty bottle cracked, withered and not of much use to anyone, yet I to did not forget His statutes.

Then the Lord in His mercy quickened me after thy loving-kindness;so shall I keep the testimony of thy mouth.
The Lord drew me back and showed me how sinful I was. It is a sin to have any form of unbelief no matter how it came to be. We can make excuses yet how it shows our lack of trust in the Lord. It is like telling the Lord He is a liar that we do not believe Him. Unbelief for me came because I allowed the vanities of the world to crowd out His truth. I took my eyes off of the word therefore loosing the power that comes from its truth.

Vanities come in many forms and no sooner are our eyes on vanity, than our heart goes after it.  It could be in a song, a story told to us the other day. It can come in simple forms and then come in forms like television, looking at the world possessions and its pride. All we can do is ask the Lord to TAKE OUR EYES OFF IT!

“Go you that boast in all your stores,

 And tell how bright they shine;

Your heaps of glittering dust are your,

But my Redeemer’s mine.

“I would not change my blest estate

For all that earth calls good or great’

And while my faith can keep her hold,

I envy not the sinner’s gold.”

 Spurgeon Quotes; allow the sinner to go after the pleasures of the world as it is all they will ever have. But the Christian never finds any comfort unless his soul is quickened in the ways of God. 

 I believe this statement to be true as I have the experience and I am sure many can conclude the same.

We as Christians place ourselves in a dangerous positions when our eyes are upon vanity. Not that we will loose our soul, but that we place ourselves in a place to be attacked,  this leading to slothfulness and great despair.

Shame on me if my soul is taken up with vanities!

Rutherford stated; “Ever since I ate the bread of heaven, the brown bread of this world has not been to my palate; and since I have feasted on the food of angels, I cannot eat the ashes that satisfy the men whose portion is in this life”   How I agree!

 If there is one thing that I can leave with you let it be this; Again from Spurgeon;

What will you do when you come really to die, if you have no Saviour? Men and women, if you have not Christ to trust to, what will you do? You must soon have the death-sweat wiped from you clammy brows; you must soon have the needed drop of water administered to your parched lips. What will you do when death shakes the bones within the strong man, and makes each nerve thrill with thee dread music of pain? What will you do when death, and hell, and judgment, and eternity, and the great white throne, have become real things to you, to your business and even your children and your wife or husband seem banished from your sight?

 

The gates of heaven do exist and so does the gates of hell!

I pray the Lord give faith to those that have none and help those who believe through grace to walk in the ways of the Lord! To God be all the Glory Amen!

Debylin

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

