Homestead Finds

I have been keeping my eyes open inorder to find things that we will need for our new homestead. Here are a few finds all very good prices.
First we have some oil lamps.

small metal lantern

small metal lantern

small green lantern

small green lantern

clear glass small lantern

clear glass small lantern

larger oil lantern

larger oil lantern

coal burning iron or stove top

coal burning iron or stove top

open iron

open iron

close up view, you can see the bird, I believe it is a rooster

close up view, you can see the bird, I believe it is a rooster

We are still looking for a few items but might wait until we get to our homestead. We will be looking for a large pressure canner, berkey water purifier and many tools. We are looking forward to our new life and Praise God that He provides and watches over us.

Be Still and know that I am God

Be Still and know that I am God

Have a blessed Lord’s Day
Debylin

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homestead Finds

  1. foothillagrarian says:

    I found an online tutorial to make your own Berkey with buckets and their filters. We’ve tried it and it works great!
    http://foothillagrarian.wordpress.com/2008/10/18/big-berkey-love/
    It is a good way to start cheaply ($99 for the black filters and a couple of buckets) while you save money to buy the stainless steel Berkey itself. I plan on getting the Big Berkey at some point. Here in Krazy Kalifornia, it is illegal to buy a Berkey with the black filters as it makes you into an “unlicensed water treatment facility”. However, you CAN buy the black filters separately and the big stainless berkey with the white ceramic filters. Regulation FAIL, lol.
    I would really love to find one of the coal irons. We live in an area where there is a lot of this stuff in antique stores (Gold Rush era California)but it is EXPENSIVE!

  2. debylin says:

    Hi foothillagrarian, thanks for the idea! Government!!! I was talking to a East Indian man while I was looking at the Iron and he said that in India you can get them for free. He said that people stopped using them in order to use the electric and people just didn’t want the coal irons any more. He said that antiques are not something that they are into there. So they give away things they don’t want. One person at the store said it will be nice to have to look at, in which I said no I was going to use it. You always get a funny look it you are not doing or living what some call the norm. I paid 45 dollars which I thought was not a bad price.
    Debylin

  3. LadySnow says:

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog! As for the cupcakes. I am not very creative, but I got a book from our library called “Hello Cupcake!” and it has a ton of wonderful ideas in it. (There are many more I want to make. 🙂

  4. CM says:

    Always enjoy reading your blog. I live in Texas and sometimes visit the place where I think you are moving to. It is going to be hot…lemme tell you. It is hot here. I am always impressed with how well they get things to grow in this heat!

  5. Danielle says:

    Great buys! I used to not really be interested in antiques but now living this life style I want to stop when I see an antique store. You never know what you may find!! The antique store owners around here know I buy them to use them and not to just display them!! Looking forward to your move! God Bless,Danielle

  6. Jordan and Josie says:

    What great finds!
    They are definitely items that work well with this lifestyle.
    We are counting down the days till your move…
    (=

    Jordan

  7. hearthandhomemaker says:

    Hi,

    We are on the same path as you right now, selling all we have, buying a converted bus, and moving to rural land. I’m so happy to find other “crazy” people out there like us! 😉 I am also collecting oil lamps. I’ll have to do a post about them in the near future. I also have a Rapid Washer, and am buying a hand wringer later today. I’ll have to order a washboard. I don’t have an iron yet, but I don’t iron much, so it’s low on my list. That iron is so unusual! So are your lamps, very different. Most of my lamps I’m buying new, as I don’t want to pay for the collectible value of antiques. I did, however, buy one yesterday that may be antique. It’s a clear pressed glass finger lamp. Nice and sturdy, won’t tip easily if the children bump it.

    We’ll be having many yard sales soon. I hope ours goes as well as yours did. I don’t want to have to haul off too much stuff!

    Jillian

  8. hearthandhomemaker says:

    By the way, were your lamps very expensive? It seems like most antique stores want $30-50 each. I guess I’m a cheapo, lol. Thanks for posting the pics, they were fun to look at.

    Jillian
    http://www.oursimpleagrarianlife.wordpress.com

    • debylin says:

      Hi Jillian thanks for your comments. Some have called me crazy! The oil lamps that we have found so far have been old but are very cheap. I had one from before we made the decision to move (the little green one) The others well lets see, the little clear one was 2 dollars, the metal one was 3.50, the tinted orange-brown one was 4.50. I just bought one more clear glass one with a ceramic bottom for only 12 dollars. So we have been blessed to get things so cheap. I kinda feel the same way you do about the outhouse, but we are getting a thing called a lugga-loo for at night. It is just a pail with a toilet lid. This will work fine. I grew up in the country and used an outhouse for 16 years so it doesn’t bother me. I’m still a country girl by nature. What is a rapid washer….? I am very curious! I too need a hand wringer and a washboard as well.
      thanks again for the comment!

Leave a Reply

