To Tell The Truth

sheqer, sheh’-ker
;an untruth; by implication a sham (often adverbially): – without a cause, deceit (-ful), false (-hood, -ly), feignedly, liar, + lie, lying, vain (thing), wrongfully.

In the past few days I have had to deal with lying.  I really dislike those that blatantly lie, who deceive others in order to get away with or get what they want. In the work place so many things happen and it can be a breeding ground for all kinds of evil.

I have found myself tangled in situations that have left me feeling daunted and frustrated. Many days I have come home thinking, “why did I say that or why didn’t I just keep my mouth shut”!  I have a tendency to speak out in a situation when wrongs have been done or when other abuse or neglect their duties. This flesh needs to be crucified and hung out to dry sometimes. And I must admit I get discouraged with myself. I should not concern myself with what others do or the decisions they make. I believe in good work ethics and integrity, which is good,  but I can’t expect others to share the same standards if they are in the world. (must get that through my head). Anyone have a two by four?

I am trying to take each circumstance and learn from it. This past week I have come up with a situation of a co-worker that lied. I guess from her perspective she didn’t lie she just told the truth in this one instance. But the overall lie was still there. I won’t get into the details of it all as the lie itself is not the thing. It is what is behind the lie that matters. The lie started here:

The sin of temptation in the Garden against our first parents began a downward spiral. Oh how quick it infested and spread through man.

One of the first lies was from Cain about his brother Abel. God had asked Cain where his brother was and Cain lied about it. Cain forgot whom he was talking to and blatantly and impudently lied to an all knowing God. Cains malice against Abel caused him to commit murder. He lies to God and then adds rebellion to his sin.

Today it is no different. Lying exists even in the Christian. We might not come out and tell a bold faced lie, but even worse I believe is that we lie to ourselves and in turn walk out that lie. We believe lies, we tell ourselves we are okay. That our christian walk is good and we are doing our best. Or the famous and most ridiculous one is, “well God knows our heart”. Our heart by the way is wicked!

Jer 17:9  The heart is deceitful above all things and desperately wicked who can know it?

I have been trying lately to examine the whys in my life. To be really honest with myself! This is a difficult task. I believe only the Lord can show us our true heart and reveal it to us. I told my brother lately that he needed to come clean before God. To be honest with his motives. It is true! We need to do this daily and sometimes minute by minute.

A person can go through their whole life living a lie! God lets those to whose hearts are against him to believe a lie.

Romans 1:28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient,

I know that God wants His children to walk in all truth not just some. Many Christian’s walk in a believe system that is made up of lies. As Christians we are called to walk out the truth. We are called to live in obedience to Gods word. When we don’t we are walking out a lie and deceiving others in the process.

We are told in Eph 4:25 to put away lying and speak only truth to each other.

1 John 4:6 We are of God He that knoweth God hear us, He that is not of God heareth not us, Hereby know we the spirit of truth, and the spirit of error.

As Christians lets walk out this journey in all truth.  Lets Pray that God will reveal truth to us, in our speech, motives, witness. Let us give God all Glory and Praise in our daily lives. Let our witness  draw those to whom he has called to be His own. Or put to shame those who call not on the True God but live a lie!

Debylin

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

