Learning and more learning

Well we have been here for 2 months now and things are moving right along. We will be putting up the fence for our property Lord willing in a couple of weeks. We will have to move the RV back to the land first. We are only fencing off a piece of land big enough for the RV, garden and possible a chicken coop in the future. I would guesstimate maybe a bit less then an acre. If we need to we can make it bigger but for know it will work just fine.

Lord willing will be able to plant a fall and winter garden. Looking forward to eating and canning some homegrown food!

These past few months have been filled with many lessons to learn. I have learned so much about canning and about all the natural foods that are all around us. I have done down some prickly pear jelly and some mesquite pods.

mesquite

Jelly

I have as well started drinking stinging nettle in hope of it helping me with my allergies. I drink it in a tea or sometimes I drink it cold. It is pretty plentiful around this area.

stinging nettle1

Now on a more spiritual side I can say the same thing. I have been learning some serious lessons. When you arrive here like I said before your mind is quite colonized meaning you still think like you did when you lived in the world (hooked up to the grid, going to a worldly job,dealing with and living with a people who do not know God). My mind has to continually have clean and new input into it daily. Cleansing the mind with the word of God is a must but as well rethinking how you walk this out  is another. Your conversations and your thoughts need to be put right. Our way of life here is such that you have think before you speak, think before you do. When living in community I am learning that we are one yet separate. We have to consider the needs of the whole and not just my needs. Being like minded does not happen over night. You can believe in the same doctrine and sing the same songs and still not think like those around you that have been here much longer then you. I am learning to walk according to the word of God in all things.. It does not always happen as my flesh rears it’s ugly head and demands it rights. But the process continues and the Lord is faithful. My desire is to be a woman of God. To speak, learn, walk in the ways that God and others around here are showing me by example. What we have here is very precious and I want to learn most of all is to die to self!

I have gone back to read the Sermon: Gelassenheit, which is the yielding and submission of our own will to the will of Christ and to His Body, demands that we utilize the “means of grace” to further kill own SELF. Remember Christ said,”I of my own self do nothing”.

Gelassenheit is not just a single thing, or a single attitude or a single idea. Gelassenheit is not a thing in itself, it is the PRODUCT of a thing. Gelassenheit is the product of self-emptying and self-denial. It is the product of believing that “He must increase and I must decrease”. It is the product of loving that which Christ loves, and of being loved in a sacrificial way. Gelassenheit is not just meekness, goodness, and humility-bit it is the product of those things in action, and of the will of God being elevated above self. ( Written by Michael Bunker)

I believe when this happens there is peace and like-mindedness. This is my goal! There is to much of the world still in me and needs to go! I just pray that God will cleanse this wicked heart and mind and help me to walk in Gelassenheit!

Well soon we will be moving and I will keep everyone posted as to how this is going. I believe we have all the necessary fencing to get the job done. Exciting days ahead!

Debylin

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learning and more learning

  1. Diane from CA says:

    Where I am at right now in my life, I too am ever learning to let go of “the world. ” Thank you for sharing your walk with us all…it has helped me to become less and God to become more.
    Blessings to you & yours.

  2. Bern says:

    Hi Deb,

    Several people have been asking what you are up to. So, I decided to do some sleuthing.

    An interesting adventure.

    It would be good to hear from you.

    We moved to the city in mid July. The old stone was getting to be too much work for us.

    Blessings,

    Bern

  3. Renée M says:

    I really appreciate your sharing your journey along the narrow way. May God grant you abundant Feminine Graces, and may your relaying these things help those who would choose to traverse in the same direction.

    Renée

Leave a Reply

