Walk on the Wild side of Pork!

My husband and I were blessed the other day to receive a wild hog. They lean and not full of all the junk that you buy in the supermarket. So I thought that I would give you a little overview of the process.

1. The hog that has been shot and bled out.

2. skinned and cut into.

3. Cut up into larger sections first for easier handling.

4. Cubed and ready to put in jars.

5. Put into jars with a tsp of sea salt. Also making sure the lids are boiled and the jar tops are wiped off in order to make a good seal.

6. Now they are ready to put in the canner. Making sure you have added about 2 inch’s of water on the bottom of the canner.

7.  The canning process now starts. Make sure you read the directions before ever doing any canning as you want to make sure that the food is cooked and preserved. If not you can get botulism which is very serious

8. I also took all the ribs and legs that had a lot of meat on them and made soup stock which will also be canned.

I ended up with 11 full jars of pork and 14 jars of pork broth for making soup.  I look forward to canning more things in the future, like vegetables and really what ever the Lord provides for us. I am thankful for the Lord’s provisions for my husband and myself. I also thank the Sifford ‘s for their generous help with this whole process. Thank you!!!

Debylin

About Debylin

The Lord is gracious and is just and I am thankful that He has before the foundations of the World chosen a remnant to call His own.
This entry was posted in Daily Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walk on the Wild side of Pork!

  1. Judy says:

    Wild hogs are lean, aren’t they. This one looks like a mama. I like to roast the bones a bit before making stock and I add a little vinegar to the water. It helps pull the minerals out of the bones. I usually cook stock bones for a couple of days.

    • debylin says:

      Hey Judy, Looking forward to seeing you in a couple of days! Vinegar in the water… wow I didn’t know that. Will have to do that the next time. I did let the stock cook all day slowly and the broth turned out wonderful. I used all the bones and left on a fair amount of meat so I could have some meat in each jar as well. It is amazing how much meet is on the bones! They are very lean as well. This one was a momma. The man we got it from catch’s them quite often in hog traps. We are blessed that he will call us from now on instead of just killing them and leaving them for the vultures. There are so many wild hogs around here and the ranchers are just killing them and disposing of them…. what a waste of good meat! We thank the Lord for providing for us. Free meat!

Leave a Reply

